Probably Why You’re not Successful: Sleep

medium_4293345631

I’ve been sleeping at 6 or 7 am in the morning these past few weeks. When I do sleep, it’s really disturbed and I just think about all the insignificant things in my life. Like all jobless people, one morning at 4 am, I Googled. Apparently, I could have acute insomnia. Or I could be a hypochondriac, believing innocently, every word, Google hands to me.

Anyway, I did some research. All this time, Insomnia meant the inability to sleep at all, to me. It could, however, involve difficulty remaining asleep or falling asleep, poor quality of sleep or just unrestful sleep.

The lack of sleep can not only affect productivity, but also your creativity. I’ve had a lot of work lately, and I’ve also been trying to read a little more and be productive. But I haven’t been able to do any of it to the best of my abilities. I was supposed to read “The Fountainhead” in a week, but I took a lot longer. Any problem I was given seemed hard to solve too. But there are ways to get yourself back in the sleep game.

Naps

I had my exams last week, which led to the vicious cycle of stress and sleep. Sometimes I wouldn’t even sleep and attend the exam. To help my body recover I’d come back home and sleep for almost 6 hours during the day. But naps can only help to a certain extent. Naps are supposed to be limited to 30 minutes for maximum health benefits- more than that disrupts the nighttime sleep all over again. The best time to nap is between 2 p.m. and 3 p.m. to match the body’s circadian circle.

Sleep Schedule

I started to stick to a sleep schedule that I set out for myself. I tried making the “Snooze” button nonexistent as well. That button can actually ruin a lot for people who are trying to be successful. I’ve read somewhere that successful people always wake up early. And the snooze button is just an obstacle in our way. When you look at it like that, you have a little more hope in getting up earlier.

Sleep Diaries

Psychologists suggest sleep diaries as well. Diaries can help one record how long they sleep, how many times they woke up in the middle of the night and the general patterns of a person’s sleep. They also help determine why insomnia or other sleep related conditions are caused, as you can even write what you ate before sleeping or how much exercise you got before sleeping.

Smoking/Caffeine

I don’t smoke, but smoking is apparently a big reason that stops people from sleeping and being productive. Smoking urges and pangs occur in the night and generally makes sleep difficult. Although most movies portray successful people in expensive suits with a cigarette in their hands, please do not imitate. Caffeine should also be limited to increase sleep at night.

I wrote this article to help others like me. Happy Sleeping! 🙂

Try apps like:

http://sleepgenius.com

http://mysleepbot.com/tour

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/alancleaver/4293345631/”>Alan Cleaver</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

