My take on Claustrophobia

Claustrophobia is an unusual state of mind. It frightens, it hurts, it leaves you crumbled like a rock that has been lashed and whipped by the roar of the sea.
Walking in a library brings about an abnormal state of mind as well. The high shelves force you to feel inferior. Scanning the books allows you to feel excitement and helplessness- and a feeling of never ending.

I picked up a book, dusty but not old. Something about nature, I can’t seem to remember. I walked to a table and a chair and seated myself. I remember taking off my shoes and placing them under the table. A few pages into the book and I was asleep. The afternoon light from the window faded into the realm of dreams.

I awoke with a start. Where was I? I looked down. I could hardly see myself. I looked around and there were only figures that resembled monuments. Tall, majestic monuments.
I got up, afraid. The window framed a picture of the yellow moon. And I realised I was locked in the library. I walked to the place where I knew there was a door. The door was locked. The window felt more appealing than ever. I pushed the window but it was sealed. I ran towards all the windows, pushing them, almost banging them, trying to find a way out. It was dark and there was no air. There couldn’t be air, I wasn’t breathing. I barged into the great shelves, hoping to move them. They began to tilt, until the library looked more open. It was needed for air circulation , it was necessary. I pushed the windows, scraped at them, but to no avail. I pushed the shelves again and all of a a sudden, the monuments crashed to the floor, leaving a cloud of dust behind looming over the room.

This would be the end of me. The air that I was breathing now, was only filthy air. Air that would enter my lungs and destroy them. I could feel the process- the degrading process. The filth was taking over, controlling my being, my brain, my body. I thought about my future, Oh! There is no future for me. Raindrops disturbed my thoughts as they splattered on the horrific sealed glass windows. I cried. For I would never feel rain. I would never feel. I would never breathe.

The dirt enveloped me completely and I fell down to my knees. The walls closed over my crumpled body. Just then, the door opened. But they only found me dead, my soul gasping for air.

One thought on “My take on Claustrophobia

  1. You have captured the feelings of a claustrophobic person very well. Will make me more sensitive when I come across one.

Leave a comment